Infographics

28 Oct

If you follow me on twitter (@mamakoid), you are acutely aware of my most recent obsession – infographics. I absolutely love them! I feel that they are a great way to present complex information in a simple graphic format.

What is an infographic? According to Wikipedia, (yes, I know… a highly reputable, peer-reviewed source…) “an infographic is a graphic visual representation of information, data or knowledge. These graphics present complex information quickly and clearly.”

For some examples of infographics, I like: Daily Infographic and Column Five Media

At work, I help to develop highly technical environmental documents for large scale transportation projects. These documents are referred to as NEPA documents. The long and the short is this, they are meant to inform the public and decision-makers of all potential human and environmental impacts that would result from the proposed transportation project (i.e. it’s free information for you about plans for your community and how your life may/may not change as a result of these plans). Still not sure what I’m saying? Let me boil it down for you with an infographic:

Leave a Reply

